Being famous, its not that bad

I grew up in a household where the idea of being famous was looked down upon.  Oh, it would be terrible!  Not being able to go about your daily routine, having every move scrutinized.  It would be a hideous thing.  But what we never did back then, was distinguish between different types of being famous.  Sure, there is the world wide household name where you cannot move without a horde of paparazzi following your every move.  Where every little tidbit of silliness is used to sell magazines.  But lets face it, that kind of famous is a rarity, up there with winning lotto twice, on consecutive weeks.  Even Sam Neil, probably our most world famous face can still go about his business by and large without being too disturbed.  But what I’ve learned over the years is that fame comes on a scale and the kind I’ve gained is actually quite nice, thank you very much.  I’m by no means a household name.  My picture certainly doesn’t splash across billboards, or grace tabloid magazine covers.  But I have written a bestseller and I am a well known artist and I did get a minute of attention for selling Speedrenting.  All those things, you could argue has lead to a smattering of fame, which I have to admit, I rather enjoy.  Thing I enjoy is that it is a marker for how far I’ve come.  I look back 20 years ago, when I was thirty and none of those things were even near the radar.  Then 10 years ago and they started to be on the radar.  And now, I see them as a demonstration to others that humans are remarkable things. They can conjure up reality from the workings of their imagination.  Its a lovely reminder to me that all those people who have heard of me or know my work have in front of them a lovely example for themselves that their dreams too can be achieved.  That brings a smile to my face.  It also makes me realize that I have a responsibility to keep expanding myself.  Fame, I imagine, would only be difficult if you lost sense of integrity.  If you lost sight of the fundamental principle that we are all responsible for our actions, for how we respond to our circumstances.  If we somehow swung over into the world of thinking something ‘unjust’ had been done to us that we had no power to react to.  Now that would be grim.  But it keeps me honest. It keeps me clear about who I am, what I have a choice about (how I react to things, including my own emotions, and other peoples actions) and what I don’t have a choice about (how other people choose to live their lives).  So I embrace my fame, not that it makes a difference to who I am (my family and friends are great reminders of that) but to keeping me real about my responsibilities as a human.  We are blessed, being part of this race.

Leave a Reply

